Global Policy Group
At the intersection of business and policy

Trump Administration

The Trump Administration

The Cabinet

[Require Senate confirmation][Last updated November 29, 2018]

Acting Attorney General: Matthew Whitaker

– Chief of staff to then-Attorney General Jeff Sessions

Secretary of Agriculture: Sonny Perdue

– Governor of Georgia, founder of AGrowStar grain and feed business

Secretary of Commerce: Wilbur Ross

– Head of WL Ross & Co. and of Rothschild’s bankruptcy-restructuring practice

Secretary of Defense: James N. Mattis

– Retired Marine general, former head of the United States Central Command

Secretary of Education: Betsy DeVos

– Chair of the Michigan Republican party and the Alliance for School Choice

Secretary of Energy: Rick Perry

– Texas governor and Republican presidential hopeful

Secretary of Health and Human Services: Alex Azar

– Eli Lilly executive; deputy secretary of health and human services in the George W. Bush administration

Secretary of Homeland Security: Kirstjen Nielsen

– Bush administration official and chief of staff to then-Secretary of Homeland Security John F. Kelly

Secretary of Housing and Urban Development: Ben Carson

– Pediatric neurosurgeon and former Republican presidential hopeful

Secretary of Interior: Ryan Zinke

– Member of the U.S. House of Representatives from Montana; previously served in the Montana state Senate

Secretary of Labor: Alexander Acosta

– Dean, Florida International University College of Law; former Justice Department official and National Labor Relations Board member 

Secretary of State: Mike Pompeo

– Former CIA director and member of the U.S. House of Representatives from Kansas

Secretary of Transportation: Elaine L. Chao

– Former labor secretary, director of the Peace Corps, and deputy transportation secretary

Secretary of Treasury: Steven Mnuchin

– Goldman Sachs and OneWest bank executive, hedge fund manager, and finance chairman of the Trump campaign

Secretary of Veterans Affairs: Robert Wilkie

– Former under secretary of defense for personnel and readiness

Acting Administrator, Environmental Protection Agency: Andrew Wheeler

– Deputy EPA Administrator Andrew Wheeler, a former coal industry lobbyist, is serving as acting EPA administrator

Administrator, Small Business Administration: Linda McMahon

– President and CEO of World Wrestling Entertainment

Director of the Central Intelligence Agency: Gina Haspel

– Career CIA officer and former deputy CIA director

Director of National Intelligence: Dan Coates

– U.S. senator from Indiana, former U.S. ambassador to Germany

Director, Office of Management and Budget: Mick Mulvaney

– Member of the U.S. House of Representatives from South Carolina; also serving as acting director of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau

U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations: Nikki Haley

– Governor of South Carolina

U.S. Trade Representative: Robert Lighthizer

– International trade lawyer, former deputy U.S. trade representative

Other Key Trump Administration Officials

(require Senate confirmation)

Administrator, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services [HHS]: Seema Verma

– Medicaid reform advocate and former aide to then-Governor Mike Pence in Indiana

Administrator, Office of Information and REgulatory Affairs: Neomi Rao

– Attorney; founder, Center for the Study of the Administrative State, George Mason University School of Law

Chairman, Securities and Exchange Commission: Jay Clayton

– Wall Street attorney; partner, Sullivan & Cromwell

Commissioner, Food and Drug Administration [HHS]: Scott Gottlieb

– Physician and venture capitalist; former deputy FDA commissioner

Deputy Attorney General Rod Rosenstein

– U.S. attorney for the district of Maryland

Deputy Secretary of Defense: Patrick Shanahan

– Senior vice president at Boeing

Deputy Secretary of State: John J. Sullivan

– Attorney; former deputy secretary of commerce

Deputy Secretary of Transportation: Jeffrey Rosen

– Attorney; former general counsel at Department of Transportation and Office of Management and Budget

Secretary of The Air Force: Heather Wilson

– President, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology; former member of the U.S. House of Representatives from New Mexico

U.S. Ambassador to Canada: Kelly Knight Craft

– Businesswoman and prominent Republican donor

U.S. Ambassador to China: Terry Branstad

– Governor of Iowa

U.S. Ambassador to The European Union: Gordan Sondland

– Hotel industry executive

U.S. Ambassador to Germany: Robert Grenell

– Public relations executive and former spokesman for the U.S. Mission to the United Nations

U.S. Ambassador to Israel: David Friedman

– Trump attorney; partner, Kasowitz, Benson, Torres & Friedman

U.S. Ambassador to Japan: William Hagerty

– Business executive; former Tennessee secretary for trade and commerce

U.S. Ambassador to New Zealand and Samoa: Scott Brown

– U.S. senator from Massachusetts

U.S. Ambassador to Russia: Jon Huntsman

– Governor of Utah, former U.S. ambassador to China

U.S. Ambassador to the United Kingdom: Robert Wood Johnson IV

– Businessman and owner of the New York Jets professional football team

White House Staff

(do not require Senate confirmation)

Chief of Staff: John F. Kelly

– Former secretary of homeland security; retired Marine general and former head of the United States Southern Command

Senior Adviser: Jared Kushner

– Real estate developer and husband of Donald Trump’s daughter Ivanka

National Security Adviser: John Bolton

– Fox News commentator and former U.S. representative to the United Nations

Homeland Security Adviser: Douglas Fears

- Rear admiral, U.S. Coast Guard

Director of National Economic Council: Larry Kudlow

– Economist and former CNBC television commentator

Counselor: Kellyanne Conway

– Trump campaign manager

White House Counsel: Pat Cipollone (named)

– Partner, Stein Mitchell Cipollone Beato & Missner law firm

Director of Trade and Industrial Policy: Peter Navarro

– Economist at the University of California-Irvine

Principal Deputy Press Secretary: Sarah Huckabee Sanders

– Republican political campaign strategist

Senior Advisor for Policy: Stephen Miller

– Trump campaign speechwriter